About     Mission     Customer Charter     Commission Members     Strategic Plan     News    
Recent Publications
Papal registers
Armagh registers
Women's history
Surveys and Guides
Publications by Period
Papers and correspondence
History of IMC
Analecta Hibernica
Science & literature




The Chair and members of the Irish Manuscripts Commission are appointed by the Minister for Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs. Appointments to the Commission are facilitated by the Public Appointments Service and are subject to the Government's revised model for ministerial appointments.

The Commission's membership is representative of those engaged in historical scholarship and cognate disciplines in the universities of Ireland. In addition the Directors of both the National Library of Ireland and the National Archives of Ireland serve as members of the Commission, as does the Director of the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland.

The National Archives Act, 1986, sect. 20 requires that not less than two members of the Irish Manuscripts Commission shall be members of the National Archives Advisory Council (NAAC).

Members of the Commission receive no payment for their work, which is freely given in the service of scholarship. The Chair was entitled to receive an honorarium, but this was not claimed in 2012 and has been discontinued since 2013.

A company limited by guarantee, the Commission operates under the aegis of the Department of Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs.

Mr James McGuire, Chairman (appointment to 2017)

Professor Nicholas Canny
, NUI, Galway (appointment to 2017)

Dr Sandra Collins, National Library of Ireland (appointment to 2020)

Professor David Dickson, Trinity College, Dublin (appointment to 2017)

Dr David Edwards, University College, Cork (appointment to 2017)

Mr Chris Flynn, Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht (appointment to 2017)

Professor Greta Jones, University of Ulster (appointment to 2017)

Professor James Kelly, St Patrick's College, Drumcondra (appointment to 2017)

Dr Michael Kennedy, Royal Irish Academy (appointment to 2017)

Ms Máire Mac Conghail, genealogist (appointment to 2017)

Dr John McCafferty, University College, Dublin (appointment to 2017)

Mr John McDonough, National Archives of Ireland (appointment to 2020)

Dr Deirdre McMahon, Mary Immaculate College, Limerick (appointment to 2017)

Mr Donal Moore, Waterford City Archives (appointment to 2017)

Dr Thomas O'Connor, NUI, Maynooth (appointment to 2017)

An tOllamh Dáibhí Ó Cróinín, NUI Galway (appointment to 2017)

Dr Ruan O'Donnell, University of Limerick (appointment to 2017)

Professor Mary O'Dowd, Queen's University, Belfast (appointment to 2017)

Professor Jane Ohlmeyer, Trinity College, Dublin (appointment to 2017)

Dr Michael Willis, Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (appointment to 2021)

Professor Francis J. Byrne, Honorary Member

Professor Louis Cullen, Honorary Member

Dr Brian Trainor, Honorary Member

Terms & Conditions     Privacy Policy     Copyright     Contact Us     Guidelines     Links     Basket